Guided Learning Allocations

Choosing Courses

When you are choosing your subjects you should think about subjects that you enjoy and those which make a sensible combination for your chosen career or entry into higher education. Studying in Post 16 is demanding and so you will need to have been successful at GCSE level. There is an expectation that you will need to regularly work at home and so you will need to be committed to your courses and motivated to succeed.

Our subjects are offered across 4 blocks with students selecting 3 subjects.  A number of our most popular subjects appear in more than one block allowing a wider range of choice for the student.

In addition to our A Level / BTEC / Cambridge Technical courses, we also offer the opportunity for students to study the Extended Project Qualification or the Level 3 Core Maths qualification alongside their A Level subjects.

All the courses offered at the Post 16 Centre provide 5 hours onsite guided learning hours, except for the Extended Project Qualification, Level 3 Core Maths and the GCSE English / Maths where these offer 3 hours of guided learning hours.  

Entry Requirements

To study BTEC or Cambridge Technical courses you will need to have achieved 5 grade 4s or better at GCSE. To study A Levels you will need to have achieved 5 grade 4s or better at GCSE (as well as achieving at least grade 4 in GCSE English and mathematics). In some subjects there are more specific entry requirements. These are indicated on page 9 of our prospectus and also under the ‘Minimum Entry Requirements’ header on each relevant subject specific page of the prospectus.

A Levels
All A Levels will be a two year course with all examinations taken at the end of the two years of study.  The exception to this rule is those students who are studying Further Maths as a fourth subject.  This course enables students to study the subject for one year alongside their three other subjects and sit an AS examination at the end of Year 12.

Vocational Courses 
These courses are designed to provide work-related qualifications. They give you knowledge, understanding and skills that can prepare you for employment or higher education. The BTEC and Cambridge Technical courses are graded as pass, merit, distinction and distinction*.  Both of the vocational courses offered at the Post 16 Centre have a mixture of coursework and examination units. 

Re-sitting GCSE English and mathematics
These are compulsory if you do not have a 4 or better already.  These courses are studied alongside your three A Levels.  You will have the opportunity to sit the examination in the Autumn exam season and the Summer exam season.